After Chik-fil-A: Now What?

Timing is often interesting.  In the middle of writing a multi-part blog series on how the church should engage and respond to the homosexual community, well… Chik-fil-A happened.

I get it. I’m glad we live in a country where we can voice our opinions. I applaud those who stood up for free speech on August 1st.  But.. now what?  The sheer number of people who responded was staggering, and the reasons were varied.  That’s what concerns me; That while it is wonderful that people from many viewpoints  responded, my fear is that we will lose our focus on why and how we are to respond as the body of Christ.   As the church, we are always dangerously succeptible to mission creep. We can do a lot of worthwhile things, which are helpful, but are not missional.  If it sounds like I’m not interested in the social or political aspects of this issue, you may be close.  I’m only secondarily interested in them. My primary focus is on the gospel.  As the church, we have 1 enemy, and it’s not the media, or an administration, or even an agenda.  It’s the enemy.  And I’m called to take the gospel of truth and grace to all men, maintaining both the truth and the grace. It means that I don’t bow to societal or political pressure, nor do I build walls that will keep me from sharing the gospel to those on the other side of the issue:

So, now that we’ve turned up the heat, and the spotlight is on.. what now? What do we do, post Chik-fil-A?

If we simply drew a line in the sand of us and them, I’m afraid we’ve done very little to further the cause of the gospel.  So you don’t support gay marriage?  Message received. But that’s not the gospel.  What are we doing, in this situation, with both sides squaring off across the symbolic line in the sand that Chik-fil-A has become to reach those on the other side with the gospel?

Homosexuals, Publicans, Tax Collectors, Pharisees, Prostitutes; Sinners all. All audiences for the gospel of grace.  What does scripture say about homosexuality?  It’s a hammer, for sure:

9 Or do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: neither the sexually immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor men who practice homosexuality, 10 nor thieves, nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. 

But wait; even in the depth of this depravity… the gospel:

11 And such were some of you. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.

You see, we are to stand in truth; we call out sin where it is sin. Unflinchingly and without fear of reprisal.  Yet, we do so in grace, understanding that the gospel is for “us” and “them”.

I’ll spend the next few posts (which I may finish and post all at once, since this has become such a timely issue) laying out what scripture says about homosexuality and how to respond to the most common attacks on the biblical position.  But to start, ask yourself 2 things:

1. Are my actions centered on the gospel, and it’s clear presentation?

2. Do I know the biblical position and how to respond to arguments against it?

As an example, what would your response to this be?

I’ll work through a biblical response this this (and others) going forward.  Please forward this to friends and family. I’ve been shocked at the inability of many (especially youth) to engage in this subject biblically.

Note:  Please keep that in mind as you read this series; I am a Christian and my goal here is to accurately represent the biblical position.  If you do not view scripture as authoritative, you will likely disagree with much of what I will be covering, regardless of my accuracy in providing the biblical view.  Please know, and I believe that my writing will make this clear, there is no “hate” whatever involved.

Marc

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Articles, General
